Il miglior Caffé del 2012: at Trattoria Da Maria, Capalbio (I)

It has been a while since my last post, and I apologize. I have been incredibly busy and could not spend as much time as I would have liked for my blogs and other passions which bring me great joy but no money:-)

Semifreddo di Mandorle e il miglior Caffé del 2012: at Trattoria Da Maria, Capalbio (I)

I was also slightly crestfallen at the average level of quality for coffee in our country. More often than not, I am forced to add cream to my coffee, or worse, am compelled to eat a sweet with it to bear drinking a coffee which is unbalanced to say the least, and bitter, to be blunt. There are exceptions to this unfortunate conclusion, like the Cafés I complimented on this blog before and which you are more than welcome to check out in my “best rated cafés” category. Those Cafés are still an exception, however.

Fortunately, I spent a great holiday in Tuscany which gave me the opportunity to enjoy some marvellous coffee, and one true gem, which I will introduce you to right now:

Pappardelle al Cinghiale (homemade Pappardelle with wild boar)

The Trattoria Da Maria in Capalbio, which is in the southern part of Tuscany. It has become a family tradition to stop by the Trattoria on our way home after our holiday on the Isola Del Giglio. They make their own pasta, there is even a window in the kitchen so you can watch them do their magic. And following a delicious meal, we enjoyed the best coffee of 2012! They have their own “mischela”, which is being roasted by a small family roast house in Viterbo. 9 stars for the Espresso!

It is also the exception to the rule which says that, most unfortunately, every restaurant I enjoyed a delicious haute cuisine meal in would have had a great rating for the food, if you did not include the coffee. It turns out to be of little importance to the managers of these restaurants, in total opposite of the food, which is of the utmost importance and no expense is spared to ensure its freshness and quality. The managers of these Restaurants might be familiar with the term “Barista”, but they are still not interested in hiring one to make sure their coffee is on the same level as their food.

So the Trattoria Da Maria is a very welcome exception to this rule. May there be many more to follow in their footsteps!

This entry was posted in best rated cafés (8 to 10 stars), Caffè, Italy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Il miglior Caffé del 2012: at Trattoria Da Maria, Capalbio (I)

  1. Wow! After all I got a web site from where I can in fact obtain helpful
    facts regarding my study and knowledge.

Leave a Reply

